25 years Microsoft Partner

Competence in consulting is a given - but how do you measure it? Does 25 years of experience as a Microsoft partner say anything about competence? Perhaps.

Many software and technology certifications that our consultants have regularly completed or renewed over these years? More likely.

The continuous awards from Microsoft as a Premium or Gold Partner in various fields of competence? Definitely.

Episodes of a long partnership

In February 1997, we received our first  certificate of appointment as a Microsoft Partner. The fact that we are still “part of it" a quarter of a century later was certainly not thought possible at the time. We take this anniversary as an opportunity to review some episodes of this long partnership:

#9 Site Server, SharePoint: It all started with Site Server and Tahoe (1996). Back then, Jeff Teper and his team started development under the premise of "bringing search, documents, Office and the web together." Then, with the release of Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007, Microsoft laid the foundation for today's major releases, SharePoint Server 2019 and SharePoint Online. Starting in the mid-2010s, we helped numerous companies adopt this technology, designing and deploying countless SharePoint-based solutions. This expertise did not escape Microsoft's attention at the time, and so we formulated considerable quantities of so-called "one-pagers" - special marketing documents that Microsoft then used for internal and external promotional activities. Here are representative examples from this time:

#8 Cologne Branch: For about five years, we maintained an office of about 200sqm in the Microsoft Campus at Cologne's Rheinauhafen. When Microsoft moved from Neuss to Cologne in 2008, the enthusiasm was great: there was talk of a "Silicon Valley Light" in Cologne. Around its hip building called RheinauArtOffice, Microsoft originally wanted to build a partner campus with a total of 40,000sqm. Unfortunately, the idea didn't work out, the campus was never realized and out of twelve partner companies in the RheinauArtOffice only a few are left - our move out went through in 2012:

#7 Digital Pharma: ... was an initiative by Microsoft to "improve operations and decision making across the pharmaceutical value chain." An elementary part of this were conferences with presentations on reference solutions, intended to inspire other companies to implement their own ideas. We were very involved in this initiative for five years. In 2009, for example, we presented the project "Enterprise-wide implementation of Microsoft Office SharePoint Server - MOSS" together with our customer Sanofi-Aventis:

#6 CeBIT 2006: Cebit was one of the world's largest IT trade shows and was held annually at the Hannover exhibition center from 1986 to 2018. The Microsoft booth was always designed as a joint booth where interested partners could also present themselves. INOSOFT has participated for a total of eleven consecutive years. The best and most successful performance by far was in 2006: With an extended booth concept, partners were integrated into Microsoft's presentations with their solutions for the first time.

The 21st Cebit had about 450,000 visitors.

#5 World's Best Partner Solution Award (2003): In 2003 INOSOFT was awarded the prize for the best software solution worldwide by Microsoft. The "Microsoft Award" is presented during the annual partner conference. The jury is composed of an advisory board, independent experts, Microsoft executives and members of the press. In the selection process, the technological innovation as well as the increase in efficiency of the solution in daily operations were evaluated.

“With their solution, INOSOFT prevailed among five strong finalists," reported Allison Watson, Microsoft Vice President. "INOSOFT provides the best possible support for customers' needs when using Microsoft technologies. We are very pleased to congratulate INOSOFT as the winner.”

#4 Windows Server 2003 : 2003 was the great time of Brian Valentine (Microsoft Senior Vice President). Because of his success with Exchange, Valentine took over the Windows 2000 project in 1998, which was on the brink of failure, and he successfully delivered Windows 2000 within a year. He then led the teams responsible for Windows XP, Windows Server 2003 and Windows Vista. Due to our connection with Aventis (formerly Hoechst, now Sanofi) and our partner status, we had the privilege of attending a global team meeting with Brian Valentine in Seattle in March 2003:

#3 Commercial on n-tv (2000): The Y2K bug was a computer problem caused by treating year dates as two-digit numbers. Before the millennium change, we developed a special application for Deutsche Bank to centrally record and manage the Y2K problems for about 5,000 software systems. The project was extremely successful and attracted the attention of Microsoft: without further ado, they financed a commercial for the Microsoft Solution Provider Partner from Marburg, which was then broadcast for several weeks on n-tv, among others:

#2 Solution Provider Forum (1999): As an upgrade from Microsoft Mail 3.5, Microsoft introduced Exchange Server 4.0 in 1996 - a completely new X.400-based client-server mail system based on a "real" database. At that time, we were already supporting a number of quite large MS Mail environments, so we were more than thrilled when an employee of Microsoft's Bad Homburg office handed us the CDs with an Exchange beta version. And what a surprise when it turned out how well the beta version already worked. In 1999, the first Microsoft Solution Provider Forums were held and we were able to report to the assembled customers about our experiences in using and migrating to MS Exchange Server 4.0:

#1 Microsoft Solution Provider (1997): In the early 1990s, Microsoft introduced the "Microsoft Authorized Training Center" as a mark of qualified training houses. This idea was gradually transferred to consulting firms: the Microsoft Solution Provider program was born.

Then, as now, interested system houses had to apply for this award and prove their competence in Microsoft technologies: "In recognition of demonstrated expertise and commitment to providing outstanding business solutions based on Microsoft products".

Our first certificate of appointment was signed by a gentleman named Bill Gates.

25 Jahre Microsoft Partner

Kompetenz in der Beratung ist selbstverständlich – aber wie misst man das? Sagen 25 Jahre Erfahrung als Microsoft Partner schon etwas über Kompetenz aus? Vielleicht.

Viele Software- und Technologie Zertifizierungen, die unsere Berater*innen in diesen Jahren regelmäßig absolviert bzw. erneuert haben? Schon eher.

Die kontinuierlichen Auszeichnungen von Microsoft als Premium bzw. Gold Partner in unterschiedlichen Kompetenzfeldern? Definitiv.

Episoden einer langjährigen Partnerschaft

Im Februar 1997 erhielten wir unsere erste Ernennungsurkunde zum Microsoft Partner. Dass wir ein Vierteljahrhundert später immer noch "dabei" sind, hat damals sicher niemand für möglich gehalten. Wir nehmen dieses Jubiläum zum Anlass, einige Episoden noch einmal Revue passieren zu lassen:

#9 Site Server, SharePoint: Mit Site Server und Tahoe (1996) fing alles an. Damals startete Jeff Teper und sein Team die Entwicklung unter der Vorgabe "Suche, Dokumente, Office und das Web zusammenzubringen". Mit dem Erscheinen des Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 legte Microsoft dann die Grundlage für die heutigen Hauptversionen SharePoint Server 2019 und SharePoint Online. Ab Mitte der 2010er Jahre haben wir zahlreiche Unternehmen bei der Einführung dieser Technologie unterstützt und dabei unzählige SharePoint basierte Lösungen konzipiert und bereitgestellt. Diese Kompetenz ist seinerzeit auch Microsoft nicht entgangen und so formulierten wir erhebliche Mengen sogenannter "One-Pager" - spezielle Marketing-Unterlagen, die Microsoft dann für interne und externe Werbemaßnahmen verwendet hat. Hier repräsentative Beispiele aus dieser Zeit:

#8 Niederlassung Köln: Rund fünf Jahre unterhielten wir ein gut 200qm großes Büro im Microsoft Campus am Kölner Rheinauhafen. Als Microsoft 2008 von Neuss nach Köln zog, war die Begeisterung groß: Von einem „Silicon Valley Light“ in Köln war die Rede. Rund um sein hippes Gebäude namens RheinauArtOffice wollte Microsoft ursprünglich einen Partner-Campus mit insgesamt 40.000qm bauen. Leider hat die Idee nicht funktioniert, der Campus wurde nie realisiert und von zwölf Partnerfirmen im RheinauArtOffice sind nur noch wenige übrig - unser Auszug ging 2012 über die Bühne:

#7 Digital Pharma: … war eine Initiative von Microsoft, um "den Betrieb und die Entscheidungsfindung in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette der Pharma-Branche zu verbessern." Elementarer Bestandteil dabei waren Konferenzen mit Vorträgen über Referenzlösungen, gedacht als Anregung für andere Unternehmen, ihre Ideen umzusetzen. Wir waren fünf Jahre sehr engagiert an dieser Initiative beteiligt. 2009 präsentierten wir zum Beispiel zusammen mit unserem Kunden Sanofi-Aventis das Projekt "Unternehmensweite Einführung des Microsoft Office SharePoint Server - MOSS":

#6 CeBIT 2006: Die Cebit war eine der weltweit größten IT-Messen und fand von 1986 bis 2018 jährlich auf dem Messegelände Hannover statt. Der Microsoft Messestand war stets als Gemeinschaftsstand konzipiert, auf dem sich interessierte Partner ebenfalls präsentieren konnten. INOSOFT war insgesamt elf Jahre hintereinander mit von der Partie. Der mit großem Abstand beste und erfolgreichste Auftritt war im Jahr 2006: Mit einem erweiterten Standkonzept wurden die Partner erstmals mit ihren Lösungen in die Präsentationen von Microsoft eingebunden.

Die 21. Cebit wurde vom 9. bis 15. März 2006 durchgeführt und hatte ca. 450.000 Besucher.

#5 Auszeichnung für die weltweit beste Partnerlösung (2003): Im Jahr 2003 wurde INOSOFT von Microsoft mit dem Preis für die weltweit beste Softwarelösung ausgezeichnet. Der "Microsoft Award" wird während der jährlich stattfindenden Partnerkonferenz ausgelobt. Die Jury setzt sich aus einem Fachbeirat, unabhängigen Experten, Microsoft Führungskräften und Pressevertretern zusammen. Bei der Auswahl wurden die technologische Innovation sowie die Effizienzsteigerung der Lösung im täglichen Ablauf bewertet.

“Mit ihrer Lösung konnte sich INOSOFT unter fünf starken Finalisten durchsetzen,” berichtete Allison Watson, Microsoft Vice President. “INOSOFT unterstützt die Bedürfnisse der Kunden bei der Anwendung von Microsoft-Technologien optimal. Wir freuen uns sehr, INOSOFT als Sieger gratulieren zu dürfen.”

#4 Windows Server 2003 : 2003 war die große Zeit des Brian Valentine (Microsoft Senior Vice President). Aufgrund seines Erfolgs mit Exchange übernahm Valentine 1998 das auf der Kippe stehende Projekt Windows 2000 und es gelang ihm innerhalb eines Jahres, Windows 2000 erfolgreich auszuliefern. Anschließend leitete er die Teams, die für Windows XP, Windows Server 2003 und Windows Vista verantwortlich waren. Durch unsere Nähe zu Aventis (ehemals Hoechst, jetzt Sanofi) und unseren Partner Status durften wir im März 2003 bei einem globalen Team Meeting mit Briane Valentine in Seattle dabei sein:

#3 Werbespot bei n-tv (2000): Das Jahr-2000-Problem oder Y2K-Bug war ein Computerproblem, das durch die Behandlung von Jahreszahlen als zweistellige Angabe entstanden ist. Für die Deutsche Bank haben wir vor dem Jahrtausendwechsel eine spezielle Anwendung entwickelt, um die Y2K Problemstellungen für rund 5.000 Softwaresysteme zentral zu erfassen und zu managen. Das Projekt war überaus erfolgreich und erregte die Aufmerksamkeit von Microsoft: Kurzerhand finanzierte man für den Microsoft Solution Provider Partner aus Marburg einen Werbespot, der dann über mehrere Wochen u.a. auf n-tv ausgestrahlt wurde:

#2 Solution Provider Forum (1999): Als Upgrade von Microsoft Mail 3.5 führte Microsoft 1996 den Exchange Server 4.0 ein - ein völlig neues, auf X.400 basierendes Client-Server-Mail-System auf Basis einer "echten" Datenbank. Damals betreuten wir bereits eine Reihe recht großer MS Mail Umgebungen. Wir waren daher mehr als begeistert, als uns ein Mitarbeiter der Microsoft Niederlassung Bad Homburg die CDs mit einer Exchange Beta-Version überreichte. Und was haben wir gestaunt, als sich herausstellte, wie gut bereits die Beta Version funktioniert. 1999 wurden dann die ersten Microsoft Solution Provider Foren ausgerichtet und wir durften den versammelten Kunden von unseren Erfahrungen beim Einsatz und dem Umstieg auf den MS Exchange Server 4.0 berichten:

#1 Microsoft Solution Provider (1997): Anfang der 90er Jahre führte Microsoft als Zeichen für qualifizierte Schulungshäuser das "Microsoft Authorized Training Center" ein. Diese Idee wurde nach und nach auf Beratungsfirmen übertragen: Das Microsoft Solution Provider Programm war geboren.

Damals wie heute mussten sich interessierte Systemhäuser um diese Auszeichnung bewerben und ihre Kompetenz in Microsoft-Technologien nachweisen: "In recognition of demonstrated expertise and commitment to providing outstanding business solutions based on Microsoft products".

Unsere erste Ernennungsurkunde war unterzeichnet von einem Herrn namens Bill Gates.